Vaishaka Day

Commemorating the Buddha's Birth, Enlightenment, and Parinirvana

301

We have received a matching funds pledge of $30,000!

HELP US EARN THESE FUNDS!
One Day Left

Our campaign ends at midnight tonight. We're almost there. Thank you for your support!

Vaishaka Day (also known as Saga Dawa) is the annual commemoration of the Buddha’s Birth, Enlightenment, and Parinirvana celebrated by Buddhists all over the world. It falls on a full moon day, usually in May.

Starting sometime in the early 1980s, the Vajradhatu/Shambhala community started hosting a Vaishaka Day gathering at the center in Boulder. At the time, there was a sizable  community of Asian Buddhists in Boulder, perhaps Vietnamese (does anyone remember?). Each year the Vidyadhara invited them to join us in celebrating the Buddha. It was always a lovely event and it was wonderful to share our shrine room with a broader sense of sangha.

Please join us in Celebrating Vaishaka Day on Ocean

When: Friday, June 5 at 8 am PDT / 9 am MDT / 10 am CDT / 11 am EDT / 17:00 CEST

Where: The Main Ocean Shrine Room

This one hour program will include the recitation of a Praise to the Buddha, a brief recitation of the Shakyamuni mantra, a reading from a poetic life of the Buddha, and a video of a short talk on the Buddha’s teaching of Sutra by Vidyadhara Chögyam Trungpa Rinpoche. Come say hello and thank you to Buddha Shakyamuni!

Open to all.

Co-sponsored by Ri-mé Society

Share